François Baucher

François Baucher settled in Paris around 1834 and partnered Jules-Charles Pellier to head the indoor school of the Faubourg Saint-Martin. In 1837, he also partnered Laurent Franconi, the most experimented specialist as regards circus, who made the haute école step into the circus. Baucher entered then the most prestigious period of his career during which he presented his most famous four horses, and more particularly the famous Partisan. In 1842, he published his Riding Method based on new principles.

Baucher abandoned the practice of the "high airs" found in former equitation to turn his interest only on the stylisation of the natural gaits. Sitting a horse as needed in the ‘pesade’ was against the rules of his new aesthetics. All he wanted was to rely on the "rassembler" in order to develop the horse’s agility in all directions for its usual movements and therefore imagined the balance called the "isard sur le pic". He discovered the way to supple all the horse by first educating the horse’s mouth to focus on a half -tension of the rein.

In the Baucher system, the horse has no will any longer, nor intelligence, nor memory. It is no more than a machine, or, if you prefer, a force obeying the slightest movements sent by the rider without any possible resistance.

Jules Janin, A summer in Paris, 1843

The French army, attempting to reform its riding practice, made a series of test with his method, but eventually rejected and forbid it in 1845.

In 1855, the main chandelier hanging over the circus ring where Baucher was working alone came off and he was seriously injured. He then shaped his "second manner" in which he prepared the "ramener" through the maximum heightening of the neck and invented the ‘hands without legs and legs without hands" principle.

Baucher’s last teachings were exposed by General Faverot de Kerbrech in the the Methodic training of the riding horse… in 1891.

< >

Website of the National riding school (Documentation Centre)


Ancient collection

François Baucher

François Baucher s’installe à Paris vers 1834 et s’associe avec Jules-Charles Pellier pour diriger le manège du Faubourg Saint-Martin. En 1837, il s’associe aussi avec Laurent Franconi, le spécialiste le plus expérimenté en matière de cirque, qui avait fait entrer la haute école sur la piste. Baucher entre dans la période la plus prestigieuse de sa carrière, au cours de laquelle il présente ses quatre plus célèbres chevaux, et notamment le fameux Partisan. En 1842, il publie sa Méthode d’équitation basée sur de nouveaux principes.

Baucher se détourne de la pratique des « airs relevés » de l’équitation ancienne pour ne s’intéresser qu’à la stylisation des allures naturelles. Asseoir un cheval tel que le réclame la « pesade » est en contradiction avec les règles de sa nouvelle esthétique. Il demande seulement au rassembler de lui permettre de développer l’agilité du cheval en tous sens dans ses mouvements usuels et imagine pour cela l’équilibre dit de « l’isard sur le pic ». Il découvre qu’en éduquant tout d’abord la bouche du cheval à se mobiliser sur une demi-tension de rêne, il avait le moyen d’assouplir l’ensemble du cheval.

Dans le système Baucher, le cheval n’a plus ni volonté, ni intelligence, ni souvenir. Il n’est plus qu’une machine, ou, si vous aimez mieux, une force obéissant aux moindres mouvements que lui transmet le cavalier, sans que la moindre résistance soit possible.

Jules Janin, Un été à Paris, 1843

L’armée cherche à se réformer sur le plan équestre et des essais de sa méthode sont entrepris mais elle est interdite dans l’armée en 1845.

En 1855, le grand lustre qui surplombe la piste du cirque où il travaille seul se détache et le blesse grièvement. Il formule alors sa « deuxième manière » dans laquelle il prépare le ramener par l’élévation maxima de l’encolure et invente le principe « main sans jambes et jambes sans main ».

Les derniers enseignements de Baucher sont exposés par le général Faverot de Kerbrech dans le Dressage méthodique du cheval de selle… en 1891.

< >

Site du Centre de documentation de l'École nationale d'Équitation

http://documentation.equestre.info/

 

Fonds ancien

http://fonds-ancien.equestre.info/