The hunt into the abyss:
a persistent myth

The myth of prehistoric hunters pressuring horses into leaping into the abyss at the top of the Rock of Solutré has long been considered a historical fact. The image of the hunt into the abyss at Solutré was used for the first time in 1870 in the L’homme primitif [Primitive Man], a book by Louis Figuier. One of the discoverers of the Solutré site, Adrien Arcelin, picked it up in his novel about reindeer hunters at Solutré published in 1872.

The persistence of this myth explains why there are still numerous depictions of it. This image of organised massacre conveys the idea of a famished, violent and barbaric prehistoric man exploiting all food sources.

Never have I seen anything more beautiful than this rock turned crimson by the setting sun silhouetted in the sky above the surrounding hills, acting as gigantic pedestal for so many victims wrapped in the devouring spirals of a pyre...

Adrien Cranile (Arcelin), Solutré, 1872

Archaeological data completely contradict this hypothesis since no trace of fracture indicative of a fall has never been observed on the bones of horses at Solutré. More reasonably, prehistoric men should be depicted tending the herd at the foot of the rock, and, contrary to the image given by the hunt into the abyss, making a selection among the horses.

< >

La chasse à l’abîme :
un mythe persistant

Le mythe des chevaux précipités dans le vide du haut de la roche de Solutré par les chasseurs préhistoriques a longtemps été tenu pour un fait historique. L’image de la chasse à l’abîme à Solutré est utilisée pour la première fois en 1870 dans le livre L’homme primitif de Louis Figuier. Adrien Arcelin, l’un des découvreurs du site de Solutré, la reprend dans son roman sur les chasseurs de rennes à Solutré publié en 1872.

La persistance de ce mythe explique pourquoi l’on en trouve encore de nombreuses représentations. Cette image de massacre organisé véhicule l’idée d’un homme préhistorique affamé, violent et barbare, exploitant la totalité de sa ressource alimentaire.

Je n'ai jamais rien vu de plus beau que ce rocher empourpré des feux du soleil couchant se détachant dans le ciel par-dessus toutes les collines voisines, servant de gigantesque piédestal à tant de victimes enveloppées dans les spirales dévorantes d'un bûcher...

Adrien Cranile (Arcelin), Solutré, 1872

Les données archéologiques contredisent totalement cette hypothèse puisque aucune trace de fracture, caractéristique d’une chute, n’a jamais été observée sur les ossements de chevaux à Solutré. Plus raisonnablement, il faut se représenter les hommes préhistoriques rabattant le troupeau au pied de la roche et, contrairement à l’image donnée par la chasse à l’abîme, opérant une sélection parmi les chevaux.

< >